State-Lien-Laws-Page

STATE LIEN LAWS

STATE CONSTRUCTION LIEN SURVEY

STATE PRE-LIEN NOTICE NOTICE OF INTENT LIEN NOTICE
Alabama Required before lien   Within 6 months from last day for Original Contractors. Within 4 months for Subs & Material Suppliers.
Alaska Before Performance   Within 90 days after last performance, if no notice of completion was filed. Within 90 days if notice of completion was filed & contractor  gave pre-lien.Within 15’days if notice of completion was filed.
Arizona Within 20 days from first day of work.
If the actual services
provided exceed more than 20% of the original preliminary notice dollar amount, you must file an amended preliminary notice to all parties in order for your lien rights to be valid for the full dollar amount.
  Contractor within 120 days from last day of work or completion, whichever is sooner or within 60 days if notice of completion was filed.
Arkansas Before work begins 10 day notice to owner(s), except for original contractors. Within 120 days from last day of work.
California Within 20 days from first day of work, for Subs and Material Suppliers   Contractor, within 60 days of last day of work or within 30 days if notice of completion was filed.
Subs and Material Supplier, within 90 days of last day of work or within 30 days if notice of completion was filed.
Colorado   Within 10 days before filing lien Within 4 months of last day of work
Connecticut   Within 90 days of last day of work. Within 90 days of last day of work.
Delaware Contractors who have a contract with the owner and who provides both labor & materials.   Within 120 days but not before 90 days after last date of work or delivery.
District of Columbia First day of work or during construction.   Within in 3 months from last day of work.
Florida Within 45 days from first day of work   Within 90 days from last day of work.
Georgia Within 30 days from first day of work   Within 3 months after last day of work.
Hawaii   Within 45 days of last day of work. Within 1 year and 45 days if no notice was filed.
Idaho   Within 24 hrs. of filing lien. Within 90 days of last day of work.
Illinois Subs and Material Suppliers for residential Within 60 days from first day of work or delivery. Subs & Material Suppliers, Within 90 days after last day of performance. Contractors, within 4 months after last performance against third parties and subsequent owners.
Within 2 years after last performance against original owner(s).
Subs & Material Suppliers, 10 days after filing lien notice
Indiana   Within 30 days from first day of work for alterations or repair. Within 60 days after last day of work.
Lowa Within 10 days from start for original contractor with no written contract on a remodel.   With 90 days from last day of work.
Kansas   Required before lien Within 4 months from last day of work for contractors.
Within 3 months forSubcontractors & MaterialSuppliers.
Kentucky   Within 75 days on last day for claims less than $1000
Within 120 days for claims over $1000
Within 6 months after last day of work.
Louisiana General Contractor, before works begins. Within 30 days from first day of work. With 60 days of last day of work.
Maine General Contractor prior to sale. Sub Contractors on residential before payment to general. Commercial none needed.   Within 90 days of last day of work.
Maryland   Within 120 days after last day of work. Within 180 days.
Massachusetts *Call for Additional Information*   Within 90 days from last day of work.
Michigan Within 20 days from  first day of work.   Within 90 days from last day of work.
Minnesota Within 45 days from first day of work.
General Contractor (without contract) Within 10 days from start.
  Within 120 days from last day of work.
Mississippi Original Contractors can file liens
Sub contractors & Material Suppliers can file stop notices.
  Within 12 months after last day of work.
Missouri Original construction immediately. 10 days before lien Within 6 months from last day of work.
Montana Within 20 days from first day of work.   Within 90 days from last day of work.
Nebraska Optional, but advisable.   Within 120 days from last day of work
Nevada Within 31 days from first day of work.   Within 40 days from last day of work with notice of completion filed.
Within 90 days of last day or completion without notice of completion filed.
New Hampshire Before first day of work   With notice valid for 120 days
New Jersey Commercial NUB (optional)
Residential- NUB is required
  Within 90 days from last day of work.
Within 10 of arbitrator’s decision
New Mexico Residential within 20 days from first day.
Commercial Within 60 days from first day.
  Within 120 days from last day of work for Original Contractors.
All others Within 90 days after last day of work.
New York     Within 4 months from last dat of work on residential.
Within 8 months for commercial.
North Carolina     Within 120 days from last day of work.
North Dakota   15 days before lien is filed. Within 90 days from last day of work
Ohia Within 21 days from first day of work.   Within 60 days from last day of work residential. Within in 75 days for commercial.
Oklahoma Before the first week on remodels.   Within 90 days from last day of work for Subcontractors and Material Suppliers.
Within 4 months for General Contractors.
Oregon Residential anytime after first day of work   Within 75 days after last day of work
Pennsylvania Before completion Within 30 days of filing lien Within 4 months after last day of work.
Rhode Island   Within 120 days of first day of work. Within 120 days.
South Carolina   Subcontractors & Material Suppliers as soon as possible. Within 90 days of last day of work.
South Dakota Optional, but advisable.   Within 120 days of last day of work.
Tennessee (Original) Contractor prior to work, can be a misdemeanor if not given but does not affect lien rights.   Within 90 days of last day of work.
Texas No later than the 15th day of the 3rd month all or part of labor or material was produced.   No later than 15th day of 4th month after last day of work.
Utah Within 45 days from start.   Within 90 days of last day of work.
Vermont Anytime not required but advisable.   Within 120 days last day of work.
Virginia     Within 90 days from last day of work.
Washington   Within 10 days of first day for single-family residence.
Within 60 days from first day of work for commercial or multifamily projects.
Within 90 days from last day of work.
West Virginia   Within 75 days of completion Within 90 days of completion
Wisconsin Within 60 days from first day of work Within 6 months from last day of work. Within 6 months from last day of work.
Wyoming Within 30 days from first day of work Within 10 of filing lien Within 90 days of last day of work.

 

READY TO GET STARTED WITH RAPID CONSTRUCTION LIEN?

Clients Served

  • General Contractors
  • Subcontractors
  • Pay Day Loan Providers
  • Maritime Liens
  • Garage Keepers
  • Material Suppliers
  • Architects/Engineers
  • Handymen
  • Storage Providers
  • Equipment Lessors